Google and The Climate Group logos

Operating on 24/7 Carbon-Free Energy Everywhere by 2030

Our Most Ambitious Decade Yet



Tuesday, September 29

5pm CET / 11am ET / 8am PT

In 2007, Google became the first major company to achieve carbon neutrality, setting an early standard for corporate sustainability leadership. A decade later, in 2017, we were the first company of our size to match 100% of our annual electricity use with purchases of renewable energy; we again hit this target in 2018 and 2019. Yet as proud as we are of these accomplishments, we always saw them as steps on the road to a far more challenging and ambitious goal.

That goal is 24/7 carbon-free energy. And, as we start a new decade, we’re excited to announce that our destination is finally within sight: by 2030, Google aims to operate fully on 24/7 carbon-free electricity everywhere. This is a first-of-its kind clean energy target and raises the bar for corporate decarbonization commitments.

By taking on this challenge in our operations, we aim to prove that a carbon-free future is both possible and achievable on a timeline that can avert the worst consequences of climate change. What exactly is 24/7 carbon-free energy, and how will Google achieve its new goal?

Come hear from Google leadership and special guest the Climate Group CEO Helen Clarkson about this new frontier in corporate clean energy and climate action. 

Speakers

Helen Clarkson

Helen Clarkson

CEO, the Climate Group

Urs Holzle

Urs Hölzle

Senior Vice President, Technical Infrastructure at Google

Michael Terrell

Michael Terrell

Director, Operations at Google